Kartsport Bay of Plenty - New Zeland
Kartsport Bay of Plenty - New Zeland



Rain or shine it doesn't seem to matter to New Zealand KZ2 class 'King,' Ryan Grant.

Aucklander Grant, 29, who has been the dominant force in the 6-speed-gearbox/125cc KZ2 class since the ProKart series started in 2009, was again the pace-setter at the third round of the 2013 series at Te Puke over the weekend, making light of the torrential rain on Saturday and drying but still treacherous track conditions on Sunday

Christchurch-based V8 SuperTourer driver Richard Moore proved best of the rest in the changeable conditions, joining Grant on the front row of the grid for the first (and as it turned out only) heat race of the weekend on Saturday, beating Grant to the finish line in the Pre-Final then finishing second - to Grant - in the Final.

At earlier - drier - rounds of this year's ProKart series, multi-time New Zealand sprint class champion Matthew Hamilton from Christchurch has been edging closer to Grant but he and fellow Mainlanders Chris Cox and young gun Scott Manson struggled to find a set-up to suit their tyres in the streaming wet conditions on Saturday.

Once the worst of the showers passed, they regained some of the ground, however Hamilton's Final was cut short when a manifold rubber broke after just two laps leaving Manson the best of the southerners in third place with Cox fourth.

There were new faces, meanwhile, on the podium in the KZ2 Masters.


2013 Formula S KartSport ProKart Series KZ2


1. Ryan Grant 4 points; 2. Richard Moore 5; 3. Graeme Smyth 11; 4. Chris Cox 12; 5. Mitch Brown 19; 6. Matthew Hamilton 22 

Points after Rnd 3 of 6

1. Ryan Grant 336 points; 2. Matthew Hamilton 311; 3. Chris Cox 311; 4. Jordan Morris 301; 5. Shaun Grocock 300; 6. Mitch Brown 299 

Rnd 1: Jan 26-27 Mi Sedaap CIK Trophy of NZ, KartSport Wellington
Rnd 2: Mar 09-10 Kartsport Rotorua
Rnd 3: April 20-21 Kartsport Bay of Plenty
Rnd 4: May 25-26th Kartsport Tokoroa
Rnd 5: Aug 17-18 Kartsport Hawke's Bay
Rnd 6: Sept 21-22 Kartsport Auckland  


Next races